Seagull snags a win
8 years, 2 months ago Posted in: News 0

COREY Jones goes into races with the mindset of either winning or losing.

Corey Jones on his way to gold in the men’s open board race in the Australian Surf Life Saving Championships at Kurrawa yesterday.

Australian Surf Lifesaving Titles at Kurrawa

View Photo Gallery »

COREY Jones goes into races with the mindset of either winning or losing.

There is not any middle ground for the Met Caloundra ironman. The joker known as ‘Seagull’ would rather finish dead last than in the middle of the pack.

And that strategy paid off at Kurrawa yesterday, when Jones upstaged an all-star field to win gold in the open men’s board race at the Australian Surf Life Saving Championships.

Jones did not hold back in the final, taking a different route through the tricky surf to jag a win ahead of Mooloolaba’s Dane Windshuttle and Matt Poole.

“My only chance of winning a board race is if there’s some swell on and I picked the right spot and it paid off. It was great,” he said afterwards.

“I walked in here today, saw the waves and the first thing I did was go out for a surf. I got a couple of fun little tubes and it made my day.

“To win this now…I’m stoked.”

Jones had never made an open board final at the Aussies before, let alone tasted success.

He headed slightly south, while his rivals stuck together on the northern side of the course. The result spoke for itself.

“You have to go for the win or lose option in these races,” he said. “That’s the way I race so I usually come first or last. You get some good ones and some bad ones. Today was a good one.”

Jones carried his strong form into the open iroman final where he finished fifth.

One of the biggest controversies of the titles came in the open men’s flags final which was eventually won by Mooloolaba’s Tom Reiken.

With the final down to the last three, Kurrawa’s Morgan Foster was disqualified after he was ruled to impede Reiken.

Reiken went on to beat Kurrawa’s Steve Harris and while he was elated to have won an Aussies gold, he said the circumstances put a slight dampener on it. Mooloolaba’s open women’s surf boat team capped off its remarkable season with a gold medal.

The team took out the aussieBum Queensland Cup series, last month’s state titles and sealed the trifecta in a thrilling final.

It looked to have the gold medal in the bag after opening up a big lead but Manly jagged a wave out the back and nearly caught up. Good fortune fell Mooloolaba’s way when they jumped on a wave and cruised away to victory.

Maroochydore’s Sarah Pegg won gold in the under-19 women’s surf race, while clubmate Sarah Kime took out the under-17 surf race.

Mooloolaba finished second overall in the club standings and won the under-17 division. It also won handicap honours.


Open: men’s board – 1st Corey Jones; women’s surf boat – 1st Mooloolaba; men’s beach flags – 1st Tom Reiken; surf boat relay – 2nd Alexandra Headland; mixed double ski – 3rd Maroochydore (Clint Robinson, Coco Howcroft); ironman – 1st Shannon Eckstein, 2nd Ky Hurst, 3rd Caine Eckstein; ironwoman – 1st Courtney Hancock, 2nd Liz Pluimers, 3rd Rebecca Creedy.

U19: women’s surf race – 1st Rebecca Pegg (Maroochydore), 3rd Miranda Bell (Maroochydore); ironman – 3rd Mitch Miller (Noosa Heads)

U17: women’s surf race – 1st Sarah Kime; ironwoman – 3rd Danielle Allen (Mooloolaba)

Comments are closed.

Copyright © Ky Hurst 2011. All Rights Reserved. Powered by Athlete Websites.